Winners list: 2023 South Australian Tourism Awards

Winners list: 2023 South Australian Tourism Awards
Edited by Travel Weekly

    The winners of the 2023 South Australian Tourism Awards have been revealed, featuring 31 category winners and four inductees to the coveted Hall of Fame.

    The South Australian Tourism Awards program, delivered annually by the Tourism Industry Council South Australia (TiCSA), recognises business excellence and outstanding achievement in the state’s tourism industry.

    Winners were announced at a Gala Dinner on Friday 3 November at the Adelaide Convention Centre.

    This year, four businesses across the state were honoured with induction into the South Australian Tourism Awards Hall of Fame for winning gold in their respective categories for the third consecutive year:

    • The Cedars Hahndorf – Cultural Tourism
    • Bendleby Ranges – Adventure Tourism
    • Woodhouse Adventure Park – Unique Accommodation
    • Naiko Retreat – Self-contained Accommodation

    Additionally, two businesses took home the Voters’ Choice Awards, determined through votes from their visitors, supporters, and local communities.

    With nearly 20,000 votes cast across all finalists, the winners were:

    • Monarto Safari Park – Voters’ Choice Award for Experience and/or Service
    • BIG4 Renmark Riverfront Holiday Park – Voters’ Choice Award for Accommodation

    The Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to Ian Hortne, the long-term CEO of the Australian Hotels Association SA, in recognition of his nearly four decades of advocacy and leadership within the industry.

    Isabel Nietschke was recognised as the South Australian Young Achiever for demonstrating exceptional potential both through her industry engagement and impact, and academic pursuits at Flinders University.

    TiCSA Chief Executive Officer, Shaun de Bruyn congratulated all of this year’s winners, medallists and finalists.

    ‘The South Australian Tourism Awards give us a stage to showcase the excellence, innovation and dedication of our industry,” he said.

    “I am proud to recognise every entrant in this year’s South Australian Tourism Awards program as dedicated operators striving for excellence.”

    Minister for Tourism, Zoe Bettison said the diversity and excellence of the winners demonstrate what makes South Australia a must-visit tourism destination.

    “I congratulate all winners of the 2023 South Australian Tourism Awards, who represent the world-class calibre of our state’s tourism industry,” Bettison, said.

    “With South Australia’s visitor economy at an all-time high of $9.9 billion, it is clear this could only be achieved through the innovation and dedication of operators across the state who deliver incredible offerings which entice visitors from all over to see South Australia.”

    Winners from most categories will go on to represent South Australia in the national Australian Tourism Awards in Darwin next year.

    The entire list of winners from the 2023 event can be viewed HERE.

    Latest News

    • Destinations
    • Partner Content

    The best ways to explore Europe in 2024

    Miss out on Europe this year? Join the list... Here's to hoping we all make it over in 2024!

    Partner Content

    by Travel Weekly

    Travel Weekly
    • Hotels

    China to see seventh Four Seasons hotel open in 2024 with new Hangzhou Centre offering

    A partnership between Greentown China Holdings Limited, China Resources Land Limited and Hangzhou Metro Development Company Limited and the Four Seasons will see the opening of China’s second Four Seasons hotel next year. At the heart of the city’s newest mixed-use development project, Hangzhou Centre Towers, Four Seasons Hotel Hangzhou at Hangzhou Centre will offer […]