AirAsia’s record label just released its first hit single

AirAsia’s record label just released its first hit single

While airlines around the world continue to feel the effects of COVID-19, AirAsia is celebrating the success of a surprising pivot.

As we reported in December, the airline has ventured into the music industry through a partnership with Universal Music Group (UMG) to set up a new Asian-talent -focused record label, RedRecords.

The label has just announced the release of its first official single, “Passcode”, by Jannine Weigel.

“AirAsia Group never stops innovating and while our airline operation has been severely impacted by COVID-19, we’ve taken the opportunity to fast track and enhance other areas of our business,” AirAsia Group CEO Tony Fernandes said.

“This includes our content business which will play a major role in our transition into a super app and digital company and of course, RedRecords.

“The single marks the arrival of a new wave of Asian pop music, and I’m convinced ‘A-Pop’ is ready for its moment in the spotlight and RedRecords is going to be the driving force behind it.”

The song is produced by the Grammy-nominated record producer Tommy Brown, renowned for his work with Ariana Grande, Chris Brown, Fifth Harmony and more.

According to AirAsia, “Passcode” is a euphoric dance-pop anthem co-written by Canadian singer-songwriter Jessie Reyez, equipped with the sort of irresistible chorus that’s bound to get stuck in your head.



This came as the group announced the consolidation of its media solutions, including adtech, content and media-related offerings, under AirAsia Media Group.

According to AirAsia, its media arm will play an integral role in the airline’s fully integrated travel and lifestyle ecosystem-building efforts.

Latest News

  • Destinations

Malolo Island Resort Fiji launches its own resort app

Guests at the Malolo Island Resort can now get a better experience even before they arrive with the resort’s newly launched mobile app. Guests are encouraged to download and use the app ahead of their stay to build their itinerary. They can check-in prior to their arrival and make dinner and spa reservations all from […]

  • Tour Operators

France on foot holiday savings

Walking up a steep incline may be painful, but it is all worth it when you see that incredible view.

  • Cruise

Seabourn introduces enhanced groups programs for travel advisors

Leading ultra-luxury cruising and expedition travel company, Seabourne, proudly announces the “Seabourn Enhanced Groups Program” to elevate business prospects for travel advisors. This program introduces a revamped Tour Conductor Credit that offers shipboard credits or bonus commission for bookings. It also eliminates the need for deposits for small group allotments and increases group capacity. “Seabourn […]

  • Cruise

Ponant’s latest luxury cruise expeditions for 2024 and 2025

Head out to see the beauty of unique destinations on three bucket-list explorations of Australia with Ponant Cruise’s new luxury expeditions. Known for their luxury cruises, Ponant offers unique and truly exceptional sea voyage aboard sleek and intimately sized cruise yachts. They offer a range of discovery expeditions, and launched new cruises that take guests […]

  • Aviation
  • News

Christine O’Reilly to replace Peter Hay as chair of Australia Pacific Airports Corporation

Christine O’Reilly has been named as the new chair of Australia Pacific Airports Corporation (APAC) – the owner of Melbourne and Launceston Airports. According to a release, O’Reilly will replace Peter Hay on 1 October, who retires after five years as Chair of APAC. APAC CEO Lorie Argus said O’Reilly’s appointment comes at an exciting […]

  • Tourism

The number one thing you can’t forget if you’re going to Europe & The Olympics

As the Summer Olympics in Paris draws near, travel insurance comparison site Compare the Market is urging travellers to safeguard their European summer sports dreams by getting travel insurance for when the unexpected happens. While France seems like a decently safe country to visit, it’s crucial not to overlook the potential risks that could disrupt a holiday. From bed […]