Winners named at Cruise Industry Awards

Winners named at Cruise Industry Awards
By admin

The Australasian cruise industry converged on Sydney on Saturday night for a black tie celebration of its top performers.

The event, held by the International Cruise Council Australasia (ICCA) saw 15 awards handed out in front of a room of around 600 people with Phil Hoffman Travel, Glenelg in South Australia taking the gold award for Australian cruise agency of the year. Robert Watson of Cruiseabout Turramurra taking home the award for Australian cruise consultant of the year.

Meanwhile, APT director Geoff McGeary  was named the 2012 winner of the Neil Frazer Award for an outstanding contribution by an individual.

The role of the travel industry in the sector's success was highlighted by ICCA chairman Gavin Smith.

"The local cruise industry continues to go from strength to strength and there is no question that the hard work of travel agents in Australia and New Zealand plays a large part in that growth," he said.

Meanwhile, CLIA president and chief executive Christine Duffy spoke optimistically about the future of cruise in the region, particularly as ICCA is absorbed into CLIA.

"We've seen a decade of strong and rising growth here putting the Australasian region at the forefront of one of the most significant changes in our industry's history, namely the transformation of the cruise industry from a collection of regional associations into a truly powerful global industry," she said.

And the 2012 ICCA award winners are:

Cruise Agency of the Year – Australia

GOLD: Phil Hoffmann Travel: Glenelg SA
SILVER: Our Vacation Centre: Gaven QLD
BRONZE: Cruiseabout: Turramurra NSW

Cruise Consultant of the Year – Australia

Robert Watson: Cruiseabout, Turramurra NSW

Rising Star – Australia

Emma Blacklow: RACT Travelworld Collins St, Hobart TAS

Agency Promotion of the Year – Australia

Travelrite International, Balwyn VIC "Film Festival at Sea"

Network Promotion of the Year – Australasia

Mondo Travel (New Zealand) "Let's talk cruising with Jackie"

Neil Frazer Award

Geoff McGeary, APT

Cruise Agency of the Year – New Zealand

GOLD: Cruiseabout: Parnell
SILVER: Cruise Republic: Auckland
BRONZE: Lets Cruise: Auckland

Cruise Consultant of the Year – New Zealand

Sarah Goldfinch: Cruise Republic, Auckland

Rising Star – New Zealand

Andrew Lennox: Cruiseabout, Wellington

Agency Promotion of the Year – New Zealand 

iCruise "September iCruise Month"

Media Award

Brian Crisp, News Limited Escape section: “Simple changes lift Aussie Spirit" – Carnival Cruise Lines


Email the Travel Weekly team at

cruise icca

Latest News