States and territories introduce travel restrictions following Victoria’s COVID case

Coronavirus pandemic reported on the map of Victoria. Spread of COVID-19 represented with red circles on a black background, like a radar screen. Conceptual image: coronavirus detected, quarantined area, spread of the disease, coronavirus outbreak on the territory, virus alert, danger zone, confined space, closing of borders, area under control, stop coronavirus, defeat the virus. Vector Illustration (EPS10, well layered and grouped). Easy to edit, manipulate, resize or colorize.

A positive COVID-19 case detected in Victoria earlier this week has prompted other states and territories to introduce new travel restrictions.

The positive coronavirus case was detected in a hotel quarantine worker, forcing the Victorian government to introduce new statewide restrictions on gatherings and the mandatory use of masks indoors.

NSW has identified several places of “high concern” in Victoria, meaning those who have visited any of these during the relevant times will not be able to enter the state unless they are a resident.

Anyone already in NSW who has been to one of these places of high concern is required to get tested immediately and isolate for 14 days since being there, regardless of the result.

The ACT, Queensland and South Australia are all requesting travellers from areas in Victoria they have flagged as hotspots to get tested and self-quarantine.

Anyone travelling to the Northern Territory from one of its 10 identified hotspots in Victoria must undertake 14 days of mandatory, supervised quarantine at the Alice Springs or Howard Springs quarantine facilities.

People planning to travel to Tasmania will be required to confirm if they have been at any of locations deemed high risk in Victoria at the specified dates and times.

“People who have been at the locations at the specific times will be required to apply to the Deputy State Controller to enter Tasmania, including returning Tasmanians,” said Dr Mark Veitch, Tasmania’s Director of Public Health.

“If allowed to enter, they will be required to quarantine in a government facility for 14 days.”

On a more positive note, South Australia has removed its hard border arrangement with Western Australia, following the state’s COVID-19 case in a hotel quarantine worker.

Travellers entering SA from the Greater Perth, Peel or the South West region will still have to be tested on days one, five and 12, and self-isolate until the first test comes back negative.

The Perth, Peel and South-West five-day lockdown will end as planned at 6pm tonight, pending no further local cases.

However, the Perth and Peel regions will enter a post-lockdown transition period to keep until 12.01am on Sunday 14 February.

Featured image source: iStock/bgblue

Latest News

  • Aviation

Board Air Canada in Sydney’s CBD via a sleek Light Rail

Visitors flocking to Vivid Sydney will glide through the CBD in the newest addition to the Air Canada fleet – a sleek Light Rail tram wrapped in the airline’s unique livery. The Air Canada-themed tram is part of a new marketing campaign designed to put Air Canada in lights during the Vivid Sydney festival (25 […]